Comprehensive List Of All The Faculties & Departments In Nnamdi Azikiwe University

Posted in News   |   By CampusPunch   |   14 hours ago   |   0 Comments


Comprehensive List of all the Faculties & Departments in Nnamdi Azikiwe University

The University, Nnamdi Azikiwe University was named after the Late Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe whose keen interest in the development of human society was enduring. That aspect to his life has inspired the University in creating different faculties and departments that cuts across several disciplines.

At the inception of Nnamdi Azikiwe University (NAU/UNIZIK) Awka, in 1991 as an autonomous university, it inherited seven faculties from its mother university, the defunct Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH).

The Faculties are: Education, Law, Engineering, Management Sciences, Medicine, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences. As at that time, the Faculties of Arts, Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences and Technology Pharmaceutical Sciences and Agriculture were not part of the system. These faculties constitute several related departments.

However, in view of the fact that at its inception Nnamdi Azikiwe University was made a conventional university, whose areas of study were to cut across many academic disciplines, the authorities of the University welcomed the idea of adding new important faculties as a way of meeting the demands of the Nigerian society.

Comprehensive List of all the Faculties & Departments in Nnamdi Azikiwe University

Faculty of Arts
1.Department of English Language and Literature
2.Department of History and International Studies
3.Department of Igbo, African and Asian Studies
4.Department of Linguistics
5.Department of Modern European Languages
6.Department of Music
7.Department of Philosophy
8.Department of Religion and Human Relations
9.Department of Theatre and Film Studies

Faculty of Agriculture
Economics and Extension
2.Animal Science and Technology
3.Crop Science and Horticulture
4.Fisheries and Aquaculture
5.Food Science and Technology
6.Forestry and Wildlife Management
7.Soil Science and Land Resources Management.

Faculty of Biosciences
1.Department of
Applied Biochemistry
2.Department of Applied Microbiology and Brewing
3.Department of Parasitology and Entomology
4.Department of Zoology

Faculty of Education
2.Human Kinetics and Health Education
3.Guidance and Counselling
4.Science Education
5.Education Management and Policy
6.Early Childhood and Primary Education
7.Library and Information Science
8.Education Foundations

Faculty of Engineering
1.Department of Agriculture and Bio-resources
2.Department of Chemical Engineering
3.Department of Civil Engineering
4.Department of Electronic and Computer
5.Department of Electrical Engineering
6.Department of Industrial/Production
7.Department of Mechanical Engineering
8.Department of Metallurgical and Materials
9.Department of Polymer and Textile Engineering

Faculty of Environmental Sciences
3.Environmental Management
4.Estate Management
5.Fine and Applied Arts
6.Geography and Meteorology
7.Quantity Surveying
8.Surveying and Geo-informatics

Faculty of Medical Sciences

  1. Department of Anatomy
  2. Department of Human

As compiled from Unizik School Portal

Share & earn credit:    



Also read

Unizik Expels 15 Students For Unlawful Crimes

2 days ago   |   0 Comments

Unizik Student Cultist Shot Dead In A Rival Clash

10 hours ago   |   0 Comments